This may sound silly but....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This may sound silly but....

If you have access to a mill or a lathe function where you are able to use either the graduations on the machine or an indicator on a tool why would you manually do a layout...it only provides a visual reference and usually when I'm machining enough swarf is produced that you can't see your marks anyhow. Not only that but your accuracy is greatly improved (I would think).

Am I overlooking something?

I can see it if you're doing relatively loose tolerance work on a drill press but for tight tolerances it doesn't make sense to me (forgive me for I am a relative newbie )
    Allans Rule: Anything worth doing is going to be a pain in the butt.

I do layouts for mill work because it saves me from making silly errors. I don't rely on the layout itself (i.e. machine to the lines) unless the tolerances are wide open. If the part is a casting then there are other more compelling reasons for making a layout. If you never make silly mistakes then perhaps making layouts is a waste of time for you.
    Bill

Comment

Layout lines

There are times when layout lines can be a good double check to make sure you didn't miss a count on the number of turns of the crank or forgot to add or subtract 1/2 the edge finder or cutter diam. etc.
      I hardly ever do layouts anymore since DROs came on the scene. With the DRO you simply set a zero and work off print dimensions. To me, it removes the need for a layout for the most part.
      Kansas City area

Comment

Originally posted by willmac
        I do layouts for mill work because it saves me from making silly errors. I don't rely on the layout itself (i.e. machine to the lines) unless the tolerances are wide open. If the part is a casting then there are other more compelling reasons for making a layout. If you never make silly mistakes then perhaps making layouts is a waste of time for you.
        +1