How would you fix this

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How would you fix this

I am an electronics tech, not a machinist. I have access to a lathe and mill, but very little hands on experience.

what we have here is a CV flange from a VW Thing. this lets me use high angle CV joints on my Baja bug. there is a small chunk missing:

So I assume I build up the missing bit by welding to it, then take it down with the lathe. will the fact that it only takes up 20 degrees of arc cause problems when the welded on part slams into the lathe bit? should I grind it down first, or mill it on the rotary table?

That part looks cast iron. Welding to build up cast iron usually doesn't work well from what I've heard. If you can tell us for sure what it is, some of the pundits here might have more opinions.

Comment

I only know that a magnet sticks to it, but I will ask at the VW forum. I don't think cast iron splines would hold up to a mighty VW engine very long.

Comment

That's cast aluminum and probably has some magnesium in it, so you need to find someone who is very good at TIG welding.

Once it is built up put it in a lathe and indicate it true. You'll have an interrupted cut, but as long as you're using a properly ground cutting tool and have it mounted securely there should not be a problem. Since you say you have a limited amount of machining experience I recommend getting help from an experienced machinist as I'm sure they don't just give these away.

On edit. OK so it's not aluminum. Probably not cast iron either, but cast steel. Just what does this recess do? Simply locate another part of the assembly? Act as a seal? Brazing may be the right choice if the area in question is not subjected to a lot of stress.

BTW, how was it damaged? Did someone drop it?
        Last edited by Dr Stan; 03-16-2012, 06:24 PM.

Comment