Melting aluminum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Melting aluminum

Does anyone here cast aluminum? I did in high school, but haven't since. Here's the thing, I'm cleaning out the garage. And I have lots and lots of cast aluminum scrap. Lots of pistons, engine cases, etc. (I'm a motorcycle mechanic) I'm not set up to do any casting now, but I'd like to try my hand at it down the road. But im not going to make the investment now. So I'm thinking I'd like to hang on to all this scrap, but it's also a sizable pile spread out in various boxes. It would be nice if there was a way for me to melt it and turn it into easily stackable and storable ingots. How would one do that if one didn't possess a furnace or molds and whatnot? Could a crude crucible be made from say, thick walled pipe, and be heated in a good hot fire to pour it into some sort of home made ingot mold?

I do, and there's lot of decent (and not so decent) info on the web. As for casting the aluminium into ingots... I gave up, recycled a bunch I had collected and got near nothing for it. It takes time and fuel, and after a while it starts to seem rather pointless, unless you have them in abundance. I realised that I had already cast enough ingots to complete every project, real or imagined, likely or absurdly into "never going to happen" territory. Why keep sorting scrap and casting ingots? Why not do something with what you already have?

That said, I do just about everything wrong and I still manage to get useful blocks of aluminium without, so far, killing myself. I did buy some ramable refractory to make my furnace but otherwise use shop-built steel crucibles instead of the store-bought ceramic ones. I'm still learning the art of sand-casting but have had reasonable success just using steel moulds. I don't think I'll be casting aircraft parts or new pistons for my car, but blocks for this and that are pretty easy. It's actually quite fun.