what to do with swarf??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what to do with swarf??

I'm a newbie, and it has just occured to me that my 16 gal shop vac is about full..... I've had a lathe for about a month now, with no end in sight with the projects!! Should a fellow throw it out with the trash? Is it worth taking to the recycling center? It's a mix of 416 stainless, and 1018 cold rolled if that makes a difference.....

The usual thing to do with swarf is to walk on it, get it on your boots, and then walk through the house. Carpets are ideal for getting the swarf off your boots, and work especially well with long, stringy razor sharp stainless.

This reminds our wives that we have a constructive hobby, and they really appreciate us for this. They generally accept the minor inconvenience of shredding their bare feet on the embedded swarf with good grace.

Ian
    All of the gear, no idea...

Comment

I take mine to the recycling place so I don't have to pay to get rid of it at the dump.

How to become a millionaire: Start out with 10 million and take up machining as a hobby!

Comment

+1 on Ian B's comment- my wife has gained a new appreciation for what I do, as well as my skill at removing metal splinters from feet!

I would suppose it would depend on the amount generated, small amounts can go in the trash. I have two 55 gallon drums that are just about full.

I take them to the recyclers along with my aluminum cans. Different places have different policies, the place I took mine were adamant that the shavings not be oil/ coolant soaked, which they are not. Other places would probably take them with oil, but I would imagine the price would be less.

I think I got about $6 for my last barrel of shavings- hardly worth the trouble unless you are taking other stuff at the same time.