Fly Cutter Sharpening and use

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fly Cutter Sharpening and use

As a newbe to the milling arena I have read that using a fly cutter is an efficient and easy way to face and surface material. I purchased a set of these little guys with some tooling. I have limited experience sharpening High speed steel for my lathe, but this seems to require a different geometry. Is there any online referance for sharpening these tools?

Regards.
    Skipd1

Originally posted by skipd1
    I have limited experience sharpening High speed steel for my lathe, but this seems to require a different geometry. Is there any online referance for sharpening these tools?
    a newb maybe, but you're showing lots of machinist acumen picking that up.....not a lot seem to...most just slap in a knife tool. It'll make chips, but would be the equivalent of facing with it in the lathe - it'll make chips but far from idea.

What is ideal imo is a facing tool - the kind you grind with a chip breaker. You just have think through exactly where is the cutting edge, the rake the clearance. I'll try and find a pic I have on photobucket somewhere

here found it... a thread with lots of info....style i recomend is a lathe facing like in post 8. Unless you're plunging the fly cutter, you are cutting on the end of the bit not the side......assuming the cutter is this style not the hold-the-bit-straight-up-and-down style

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=40978
    Last edited by Mcgyver; 04-11-2012, 06:20 PM.

Comment

It's a bit more than difficult to describe the geometery of a fly cutter
      bit but a good way to start thinking about it is "it's SORT of" like a
      lathe bit for turning towards the tailstock. Of course the clearance at
      the "front" has to be suitable for the radius of the swing. I think there
      have been some pictures posted of typical cutters here or on other
      sites.
      ...Lew...

Comment