old surface plate - buy or pass?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• old surface plate - buy or pass?

This popped up used - its supposed to be an old 18x18 calibrated surface plate with legs, but look at the big dings! They are asking $75, but after I saw the dings in the picture I am thinking a 12x12 granite one from shars for about the same price shipped is looking pretty good! I have very little machine tool knowledge so I just figured I would get a second opinion in case I was over looking something.

Forget it. IF it ever was a surface plate, it ain't now. That hanger thing looks very out of place. To be a surface plate, it would have to be scraped and then to maintain it's flatness, scraped or lapped on a regular basis.
    Granite is cheaper, more durable and easier to maintain.

Comment

Are they claiming it's calibrated now?
      Mike

My Dad always said, "If you want people to do things for you on the farm, you have to buy a machine they can sit on that does most of the work."

Comment

No not now - this is the ad. http://portland.craigslist.org/clk/tls/2949531194.html
        Thank you for the feedback!

Comment

Honestly I wouldn't mind having something like that for bolting down parts for welding.
          Andy

Comment

Originally posted by vpt
            Honestly I wouldn't mind having something like that for bolting down parts for welding.
            This was an old welding project with surplus 80/20 t-slot purchased off ebay when aluminum was cheaper. The T slots with nuts from 80/20 work great for bolting things down.

Comment

my surface 'table' is a bit bigger but followed the same advice as above. It made a great welding table. Added some wheels and a ironworker, I should bolt a vise to it also....hmmm
              "Good judgment comes from experience, and often experience comes from bad judgment" R.M.Brown

My shop tour www.plastikosmd.com

Comment

Originally posted by donf