springs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• springs

I've been making this thingy for the past 6 months. when it is finished it will be a moving sculpture

The extension springs you can see holding the chain are not strong enough. I bought some shorter fatter ones but could not stretch them enough.
    Is there a reference anywhere that will tell me the origional length and the allowable stretch.
    I imagine that this is quite a complicated subject
    regards
    dave

Try Googling - spring calculator

Phil

Comment

It appears you have spent considerable time building this "Thingy".

Could you elaborate a bit more of what it will do, where it would be used or demonstrated?

An interesting build.

Comment

http://www.google.com/#hl=en&gs_nf=1...f6d9d2e4b0df84

David Merrill

Comment

The best I've learned to use is LesjŲfors AB who manufacturs springs, if they don't have it you don't need it Chek their website dfor technical information, as what you are asking depends on the material and dimensions of the spring elements.
          Amount of experience is in direct proportion to the value of broken equipment.

Comment

http://www.lesjoforsab.com/default-uk.asp

Comment

Is it that the replacement springs you got don't have sufficient travel or are they just to short. If it's the latter, you could probably just add a link of some sort to make up the length.

Comment

I think you are using the wrong design approach. If I understand your set-up, what you need to do is to set the proper tension in the chain which is being used to drive something. In other words, you need enough tension to keep it on the various sprockets. What you have is a fixed length chain and a fixed distance that the spring must fit in. This would require an accurate calculation of the spring's properties in order to work and if anything in the system changes, including the spring aging, then it will no longer work.