Need parts for Atlas TH42

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need parts for Atlas TH42

I got an Atlas TH42 about a year ago and have been slowly learning to use it. Tonight I was going to cut a metric thread and found the reversing gear for the lead screw is broken. I don't think I have ever had it in reverse and it was probably that way when I bought it (like I said, I am new to this and I got it and a lot of tooling cheap). Does anyone make new gears for these or am I going to be hunting ebay? I did see a whole new reversing gear box on ebay but it was about what I paid for the lathe.

Taking it apart looks straight forward. I am more a mechanic than a machinist. Is there anything else I should be looking at while I have it apart? Eventually I would like to by a better lathe when I learn more, so I don't want to put an arm and a leg into this one.

After a little digging, I found my parts list from 1945 that came with the lathe, It states the gears I need are part 9-48B (I know it is bad) and maybe part 9-47 (I can't tell until I take it apart). To bad I can't get them for the grand total of $1.90 it listed.

Comment

It may take a while to find your specific parts but there are a lot of used Atlas parts sold on EBay.
      Don Young

Comment

Clausing in Kalamazoo has it in stock. Atlas bought Clausing & took their name. Robin will take care of you & ask & she'll send a manual & parts list by e-mail. Let me know if you can't find the number. I have the same lathe for sale.
        "Let me recommend the best medicine in the
        world: a long journey, at a mild season, through a pleasant
        country, in easy stages."
        ~ James Madison

Comment

Sounds great. I found their web site and just set them an email. I will keep my fingers crossed that they have them. Thank you.

If they don't have them, I guess it will be time to learn to make gears. I am just not sure I am ready for that yet. That and keeping my eye on ebay.

Comment