Sharp knee mill questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sharp knee mill questions

I may have line on a machine coming up for sale. No prices, (place is closing doors soon). It's a Sharp QMV-2 verticle mill. Power cross feed. 10x50 table. Newall DRO.

I have no experience with a mill other than identifying one by picture! I can't lay hands on it to do a visual inspection yet. Before I get too wrapped up and excited about it, Are they, or were they any good?? Import or American made? Any other useful info would be great...

Sharp is one of the older machine importers.
    Most of their older stuff I know is Taiwanese.
    The seem to have some support for the older stuff along with documentation.
    I have 70's or 80's 6x26 vertical mill. I was able to get a copy of the manual and some parts that sorta fit. It was leadscrew nuts.

I think their stuff is equal to or better than the new Grizzly stuff.

So do you research and then look at the machine and evaluate.

Good luck.
    Dave

Comment

Their latest mill ( 3 yrs ago) has the sweetest (vibration free) and most quiet variable speed head that I have ever heard or seen in my 50 years of shop work.
      They have made inroads in the past 30 years and I consider them superior to many other Bridgeport imposters.
      The older models would have a early failure problem with plastic parts in the varispeed head.

Worthwhile for a shop tool

Rich

Comment

I have a Sharp mill I bought new 5 years ago. It is way better than a grizzley or jet. It gets about 10-20 hours a week use. I bought the one with electronic variable speed. I love it. I also have a used bridgeport with the manual variable speed. The bridgeport is a good mill, but I always end up using the Sharp because I like it better. I am a one man machine shop. I would buy another one when this one wears out. (not that it is going to wear out anytime soon) I've had no problems with this machinie.

Comment

Sharp Brand