Lathe work with a 4 jaw questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lathe work with a 4 jaw questions

First off I have very little experience with 4 jaw operations. I would be able to indicate a round piece to zero but that is about it. I have 2 round blanks that I need to bore a hole though .750" off center. They need to be as exact as possible with each other. How does one setup to get the offset and then have it the same for the other pieces? Thanks.

Much of what you want to do depends on exactly the diameter & length of the work piece. If you have a mill it may be easier to simply do this operation in the mill. Or, if the piece is too long then set up the parts in the mill to make a locating hole in the end of the work piece, then indicate in the hole.

A pic or drawing sure would help.

Comment

What are the dimensions of the blanks?

And what size are the holes?

Dave

Comment

I would think that you offset the jaws to place the workpiece off-center for drilling and boring the hole. Then you call two of the jaws 'fixed' and don't move them. Each workpiece is then marked for position, then mounted and bored using only the other two jaws to secure it. They should both come out the same. Note there will be some 'wiggle room' depending on how you tighten the jaws, etc. You should use the same tightening sequence each time you mount the pieces.

My 4 jaw makes it easy, as all the jaws can be secured independently once adjusted into position. If you can't do this with yours, then you may have to rely on the adjustment screws not turning once set to where you want the jaw. A bit of tape over the screw head might help with this.