washboard roads

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• washboard roads

My brother Robert is visiting Phoenix. While his wife Iris attended a line-dancing convention in Mesa, Robert and I drove the Apache Trail to Roosevelt Lake in his rented Nissan Rogue. This road was built in 1906 and has sections which have not been widened or improved.

At one view point we encountered a biker who graduated from Ballard High School in 1959. That's the same year I graduated from his school's neighboring rival, Queen Anne High School in Seattle. It made me think: this guy is riding a Harley – why aren't I?

The road has a lot of washboarding. Robert (wearing the blue cap in the above photo) asked me if I knew what caused it. I mentioned something about it being due to all vehicle suspensions being sprung to provide the same natural frequency. But my understanding of why this causes washboard roads is vague, at best.

Do you have an explanation for this phenomenon?

Allan Ostling

Phoenix, Arizona

That's the way the "roads" look on my family's cattle ranch right after we grade them with a bulldozer after the spring runoff is done.

The 'dozer's track treads leave that rippled/washboard pattern behind.
    Steve
    NRA Life Member

Comment

The traction of the tires pushing on the dirt does the same thing as the friction of the wind on water...causes ripples.
      Any products mentioned in my posts have been endorsed by their manufacturer.

Comment

There's allot of that where im from, there's a multitude of reasons and much of it is suspension and some of it is what Winchman stated as Iv noticed a pattern that it is generally worse on the climbing side of the roads where I live in the mountains...

Suspension coupled with a car trying retain traction I think is the biggest culprit... braking downhill can be bad to but at least its all four wheels involved unlike most cars climbing...

believe it or not the best car iv ever driven on washboard was a yugo...