drilling a #38 hole through a bullet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• drilling a #38 hole through a bullet

Lets say I have this .308 bullet. I want to drill a #38 hole through long way. It's okay to remove bullet when half way through and turn it around to drill through from other end. When I've tried either way hole comes out other end off center or when drilling from both ends they don't align.

What am I missing here?

I had what I thought was a good reply, but being a fire arms novice i decided to take the safe route and not make a suggestion. My best friend loads his own ammo so being aware of the irregularities in bullet shapes, I can see how this may be a problem. As I see it, the goal is to either elliminate the irregulatities or design a fixture that compensates for those irregularities. Use your immagination something will come to you.
    Regards, Matt

Comment

Why do you want a hole through a bullet? Do you want to make it whistle?

Comment

Unless you'are very lucky you will almost always be off center in the middle no matter what you drill if you drill from both sides.

Comment

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by debequem:
          Why do you want a hole through a bullet? Do you want to make it whistle? </font>
          Probably turn into a whistle about half way up the barrel

THAT OLD GANG 'O MINE

Comment

Best to set up in a collet and drill all the way from one end.
            You're not making "distructive devises" are you?
            That won't make the ATF happy.
            mite

Comment

"Probably turn into a whistle about half way up the barrel"

Look on the bright side, it will be easier to screw an extractor in it.
              Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Probably making a necklace for the better half.
                mite

Comment

Chuck the bullet (in the lathe) and drill from the tailstock.