The old arguments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The old arguments

I've been around this stuff for a long time (though I wish I had found this forum sooner), back to the days of the rcm newgroups. As long as I've been follow this, there have been 2 long standing opinions that come out in various forms and fashions:

1. Worn machines are junk.
    2. Chinese machines are junk.

My story: Home shop sized machines are rare here. Extremely rare. About 20 years ago, I picked up an old SB 9. Don't remember what I paid ($1500?), but it was probably too much. But I was glad to have found it. It has a lot of bed wear near the headstock, but I make things with it. I've made press fit bushings with it, which is about as precise as I'll ever need to get. I've done some threading on it. Some milling. It does what I need. But I'm not a production shop. I'm a hack making parts for a 40 year old Formula Vee.

I've been looking for a small mill since I went to leisure learning classes 25 years ago. Watching the paper, auctions, estate sales, ebay. Nothing locally. I can't see spending 3 days each direction driving, fuel, lodging, and a week's vacation to pick up a bench top mill.

Last January I turned 50. Not sure why, but that number rang in my head really loud. So I sent $3500 to Enco, and they dropped a square column mill on my door step. Set it on the stand, oiled it, and started cutting. Again, I'm just a hack with a squirt bottle of cutting oil in one hand and a Miller High Life in the other. It does what I want (except, of course, the stuff I haven't bought/built tooling for).