Anvil question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anvil question

I went to a garage sale on Saturday and bought an Anvil for $15 There were a couple of women selling the stuff and they probably didn't know what it was. I am no anvil expert but it looks like a good one and weighs about 100#. It has a laminated steel top that is in very good condition. I think it is a farriers anvil but I'm not sure. Can someone here give me some incite on this anvil,

Mark Hockett

More like a tinner's anvil. The square hole is for accessory forms and the sharp horn for shaping. Great buy for $15. These usually go for around $150+ when you can find them.

Forgot to ask: Are there any maker marks on it? Some are quite collectible and the value can triple.
    Last edited by CCWKen; 07-16-2012, 01:23 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by Mark Hockett
      I went to a garage sale on Saturday and bought an Anvil for $15
      Wow - that looks like it's never witnessed a hammer fall!

I agree it looks modern farrier but that is also a matter of usage and location whether a farrier would use it. It has a lot of good visual features so if it isn't grey iron under the hood it should be a decent too. It needs to be hit!

Damn good price, too. Gloat on!

Comment

$15 - that is one great score!!!

In Australia used anvils go for $3-$5 a lb! To make matters worse there's a guy around my neck of the woods who collects anvil and has over 1000 of them in his back garden and shed. He seems to be able to sniff them out faster than anyone else. He never sells any of them and doesn't use any of them either! It took me 4 years to find one and I had to go 200 miles to get it!

Comment