Shaper work-holding?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shaper work-holding?

I bought this Alba 10" shaper recently. I'm new to shapers, and the first job I have for it is cutting 1/4" keyways in 25 to 30mm bore sprockets. I will need an angle plate on which to mount the sprockets, and I have in mind to fabricate that out of 6" x 1/2" flat which I have on hand.

Any words of wisdom about shaper angle plates and keyway cutting do's and don'ts before I get started?

And no, I'm not going to leave the shaper on the trolley

Originally posted by bob ward View Post

And no, I'm not going to leave the shaper on the trolley

It could be the start of a new sport. Not belt sander racing, but shaper rowing

Dave

Comment

Originally posted by small.planes View Post

Dave
      I'm in. My Prema is sitting on a cradle too. Once I find a suitable resting place, I'll set it on the floor though.

Comment

Hmmmm, did you not get the vise with the shaper? Shaper vises are constructed quite differently than the ones for, say, a Bridgeport mill. Shaper apply a tremendous amount of force to the vise jaw further from the column and most normal vises will fail after a time.

One of the shaper book pdf files at the NEMES site has a very good chapter on work holding. Unfortunately, I can't remember which one.

http://www.neme-s.org/Shaper%20Books..._book_page.htm

Brian
        Taxachusetts

Comment

Originally posted by small.planes View Post

Dave
          When I give the 10M full throttle it does a shuffle without any wheels could be the oily timber it sits on, I like the sound of a shaper rowing contest

TBH when cutting keyways I normally have whatever it is mounted in a good strong vice

Paul

Comment

I used a cast iron angle plate available on sale often from Enco and other suppliers to cut a key way in a handle for a milling machine. It had supports cast in to prevent the plate from flexing.