Steam Engine Info. . .HP and RPM???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steam Engine Info. . .HP and RPM???

First off, I have never built a steam engine before. . .that being said I have some questions about them:

1) How do you know or how can you make a steam engine operate at a specific RPM (or RPM range)?

2) How can you figure out how large to make a steam engine in order to achieve a certain power rating?

I would like to build a steam engine and use it to actually run a piece of equipment. . .I would like the final speed of 175-400 RPM and would like a minimum of a half HP; I realize that I can achieve the desired RPM by either gear or pulley reduction but if there is a way to design a steam engine so that it operates at the desired RPM right off the bat I would prefer that.

I know very little of steam engines at the moment and up until now I have had very little interest in them, but I have a project that I think it would be really nice to have a steam engine to run the equipment with.

Thanks for any and all help!

To maintain a certain speed you need a very sensitive governor, usually a fly ball type that controls the inlet steam.

Comment

Look at existing small engines for ideas.I remember a Shaw engine that was a 2" bore x 3" stroke and was rated at 1/[email protected] steam and 400rpm.

PM Research sells a kit that's actually a full sized 1/4 hp engine-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FXeYKvQQ6o
      I just need one more tool,just one!

Comment

First, Steam Engines are not horsepower rated, Boilers are ....
        The reason is that steam pressure and volume determine the output of the engine itself.
        With external combustion engines , the power comes from outside the cylinders.
        Most designers of steam engines start at the steam source first, and then design the engine, as they know what pressure and volume they wish the engine to run at.