My bridge crane

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My bridge crane

I was asked by a pm to give some more pics and any details on the crane I built several years ago.Instead of replying to just one person I thought I would share a little more with everyone in hopes it gives more ideas and shows what works for me. I don't like to put too much home built and designed stuff on the boards because of all the armchair engineering that people offer. I did receive a good suggestion to add the brackets under the trolly to keep it from bouncing off in case a load dropped suddenly.You can get some good input but some go too far and tell you to buy one....Thats a little too far .We do this stuff because we want to and like to.

A few details..Span is 12 ft. Made from rectangle tubing but cant recall size and thickness. I wont suggest any size since I am no engineer anyway.The rails are ship channel laying on its back and it sits on a 2x2 angle iron with supports. The opposite side sits on a wall almost 3/4 way. It was built to fit the buildings structure. Kinda...I dont lift huge weight so this saves my back and makes life MUCH easier

The hoist is a Harbor freight 800 lb lift.I have a retractable extension real to payout the power cord to the bridge as it moves.The trolly is feed by the draped cable that is hanging from a cable and hangs by little pulleys. This all works very well.

The bridge rides in the ship channel so it cant derail. I added the little delrin guides to keep the bridge from racking.This also works well.

The brackets for the trucks were made with taped holes under the rails so I could put adjusting bolts in them to level the rails across the span since one side is sitting on a structure wall and other is bolted to the top plate of the wall then sits on posts.Turned out I saw only off a little bit in height but this made it easy to adjust. After I leveled that I drilled the holes thru the beams and removed the adjusters.