Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cut and weld shaft or cut and make new spline?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cut and weld shaft or cut and make new spline?

Rookie wannabe machinist alert!
    My father has acquired an older Johnson 6hp outboard long shaft. We wish to convert it to a short shaft which will require shortening the 'stainless steel' drive shaft.
    I have a 10X22 machine head lathe, but I have very little (if any ) experience.
    I only have an AC stick welder.
    Would I be better to cut a piece out of the shaft and then weld it?
    OR Cut the shaft to the proper length and then use my lathe to make a new spline?
    While I have a good idea how to go about cutting and welding the shaft I really have no idea about how to cut splines using a lathe, or if it is even a good idea?
    I envision clamping the shaft onto the cross slide with some type of cutter in the lathe chuck that will cut the spline grooves?
    Any advice or insight would be appreciated!
    Cheers,
    Jon
    Edit: I looked around for some pictures of the spline and it appears that one end of the shaft only has a key-way and a circlip groove which would likely be easier to replicate then a spline but I am still curious as to what you pro's have to say. The only pics I could find are on this ebay add so it will be down eventually...
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Johnson-evin...-/300689494545

There is a pretty good discussion here http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/thr...utting+splines post # 9 shows a pretty typical mechanism (as an example, there are other photos in other threads, most are a similar variation IIRC).