O/T shop fan question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• O/T shop fan question

I have a 3 speed fan from an old furnace that I want to use as portable shop ventilation.
    I do not have the controls from the old furnace just the fan.I have determined which wires are which speeds but now I need a switch.I would like to use something simple.......ideas?

IM NOT A CERTIFIED ELECTRICIAN. That being said, is it 220V ,or 110V? You can run it a buncha ways. Plug it into a wall then to a switch ,then to motor ,or u can just put a cord on motor and plug it in when u want it on. I ran my furnace blower exhaust fan to a fused box w a cutoff switch but thats only cause i had one layin around.Mine only runs 1 speed so i cant help w using different speeds.

Comment

A three position switch should not be to hard to locate but you will have to choke down on the air outlet from the fan as it will overload the motor pumping free air.

Comment

Originally posted by J. R. Williams View Post
        A three position switch should not be to hard to locate but you will have to choke down on the air outlet from the fan as it will overload the motor pumping free air.
        Or choke down on the air inlet, same result.
        Give us some motor nomenclature and wire colors.

Comment

??? I am not a fan expert, but wouldn't choking the air flow down increase the load on the motor and increase the current draw? A motor draws the least current at minimum load which is usually also the maximum speed. I could understand the need for some kind of transition flaring to provide a smooth air flow, but choke it down?

What am I missing here?
          Paul A.

Make it fit.
          You can't win and there is a penalty for trying!

Comment

A few years ago, I had the air conditioning and furnace replaced in our house. When the blower was removed, I asked for and received it. I plan on using it as an aux cooler for testing my motorcycle when i get it running.