Need advise for a new lathe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advise for a new lathe

Greetings all, I'm a new member here. I've been a metal worker, sculptor, art foundry worker, Welder, Master Electrician, Mechanic and a couple other things I forget at the moment for the last 22 years. I hope to be a help if I can. Please forgive my ignorance of the lingo y'all use, I'm a noob here I'll be up to par soon enough.

Now my question, I am about to start making Tactical flashlights. If you've seen a Maglite you know what operations I'll be doing. The 9" SouthBend in the shop is not quite as tactile as I would like for turning Ti6Al4V so I am thinking of going in the opposite direction and get a mini lathe. Something like the Sherline 4410. This size lathe would be nice for several reasons, most of all I can use it in the house (It's cold in the shop and I'm getting old ). Precision Is key, the largest part I will be working with on this lathe will be 12" long out of the chuck and 1.5" diameter, I'm thinking 24" bed. I'd like to have a headstock passthrough that could accommodate 1.5" rod/pipe but I don't know if that is possible in a bench-top lathe. I would really like to avoid Chinese made. I love China but... QC isn't really up to snuff yet. Now If anyone knows of a precision built Chinese model with Brick and Mortar suppliers and service in the US, I'm all ears.

My budget is around 2,000$ but if I can get one for 800$ great.

CNC upgradeable is a plus

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
    Boden

Get a heater for the shop

http://www.ebay.com/itm/GT27-CNC-Tur...item35c1b6f5d1

Comment

You'd be better off rebuilding your Southbend or go chinese than with the sherline if you plan on turning titanium. IMO...then again I've never worked with Ti. but do have several nice titanium flashlights.
      From everything I've read, rigidity/mass of your machine helps when working with Ti.

Comment