Centering a keyway on a shaft, using horizontal mill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Centering a keyway on a shaft, using horizontal mill

Lots of downtime, so been watching as many machining videos as possible.
    Cutting a keyway on a shaft using a vertical mill, there is a neat "trick" where one, more or less, clamps the shaft down and moves the table back and forth under the spinning cutter and by careful observation, once the top has been taken off the perimeter of the shaft to the width of the cutter, you are centered (if you go past you judge based on having the same amount "extra" on either side of the cutter).

Being a noob, I like this...no DRO needed, no wondering if the measurement you took was actually correct etc. etc.

Is there a similar "trick" to be used on a horizontal mill?
    I assume you don't want to be going "back and forth" as that would put a huge side load on a horizontal cutter that it was not meant to take...I suppose you could to little cuts that just touch on the end of the shaft in a similar fashion as above and then just lock that axis? Somehow that does not seem quite the same thing though...and you run into problems if the shaft is longer than the table/table movement combo...

can you share the video?

Comment

Originally posted by dian View Post
      can you share the video?
      Not sure which one the OP had in mind, but Keith Fenner demonstrates it from about 4:30 in this video, for example:

http://youtu.be/rfBbzRJspac?t=4m30s

Comment

accucacy is in the eyes of the beholder, i guess.

Comment

Drop your cutter into the keyway of the mill table.
          Center it with feeler gauges. Raise up the cutter, and lay the shaft in the keyway and clamp. Done

Rich
          Green Bay, WI

Comment