Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Trouble indexing carriage to cut rack (newbie question)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble indexing carriage to cut rack (newbie question)

Hi..
    I'm a hobbyist with little experience and could use some advise.

Recently, using my home lathe, I attempted to make a small rack gear to repair a friend's
    microscope. I used a milling attachment to hold a small plate of brass, about 0.200" thick.
    The cutting tool was a short length of 1/4" HSS ground to the 40 deg angle and mounted
    into a 1/2" boring bar as an arbor. This boring bar was then mounted through the spindle
    with a 3 jaw chuck. The milling attachment mounted on the saddle was fed parallel to the
    boring bar and indexed by the pitch of the rack. To index the carriage, I mounted a dial indicator
    (Chinese 1") on the ways and fed the carriage 1.5mm for each rack tooth. I also would lock the
    carriage before each cut.

Results *looked* nice but I found that my indexing was off (compounding error). Since my indicator
    is only 1", I would cut about 9-10 teeth and then need to reposition the dial indicator to cut another
    9-10 teeth. I needed to do this about 4 times in order to cut the total number of rack teeth.
    I was as careful as possible to insure accuracy but there was an accumulating error that ruined the work.
    I used a 1.5 mm pitch gauge to check the end result.

So, I am wondering how I managed to create such an error. I realize that my cheap indicator
    is not particularly precise (+/- 0.001" or so). The indicator does have some non linearity
    to it. I checked and saw that is some cases, for each 0.100" of travel it may be off 0.002", while
    sometimes it would right on. Would it be to my advantage to 're-zero' the indicator after each
    tooth cut? Maybe my indicator is not accurate enough for this task? What are my other options
    for accurately indexing the carriage?