Hello Post from new member

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello Post from new member

Hello everyone, my name is Bob and I'm new to metal working (unless you count the garden trowel I made in 7th grade metal shop). My career field is telecommunications, but my main hobby is motorcycling. I've done quite a bit of mechanical work, but I'm interested in fabricating some custom frames and related sheet metal body panels, seat pans, etc. I thought that this forum would be a good place to get some advice on some simple shop equipment and basic techniques that I would need to get started. I'm on a very limited budget, but I don't mind starting small. I have a small garage/shop and basic tools (hand tools, grinders, drill press, chop saw, vises, etc.
    Any advice or help you guys could provide would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks, Bob

Welcome.
    Where to begin...spend time just going through threads here, the lengthy shop tools would be an OK place to start but view it in manageable chunks. Spend time reading, "How to Run a Lathe" put out by Southbend years ago and multiple times is a place to start, Atlas put out a similar book(let). There should be some threads to find about suggested reading, the subject comes up from time to time. Spend some time watching videos, the tubal cain/Mr Pete and Keith Fenner ones are good starts as far as machining though there are others of course.