Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

can I cut 2" round cold rolled steel with an abrasive chop saw?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• can I cut 2" round cold rolled steel with an abrasive chop saw?

I am totally new to metalworking and this is my first post here so please be gentle.

I have some 2" cold rolled steel round stock that I want to machine on my lathe, but I want to cut it up into smaller lengths.

I am considering purchasing an abrasive chop saw and wondering if its the right tool. Or do I need to use a cold saw?

I also have a small woodworking bandsaw that I could put a metal cutting blade in, but somehow I don't think that's going to work, max blade width for my bandsaw is 3/8".

Thanks for any replies.

Schor
    Steve

My youtube:
    http://www.youtube.com/MyShopNotes

You can if the chop saw is big enough to fit the bar AND powerful enough to do the job. Wood working band saws bland speed is way to fast for cutting steel, some people have made speed reducers for them, can't say how well it works. The generic 4 x 6" metal cutting band saw (horizontal/vertical type from China) will do the job fine and might be a better choice then a cut off saw.
    The shortest distance between two points is a circle of infinite diameter.

Bluewater Model Engineering Society at https://sites.google.com/site/bluewatermes/

Comment

While its probably not recommended, I have cut things far too large for my abrasive chop saw by cutting through past halfway, then rotating the workpiece in the vice and taking a second cut, since the limiting factor will be the blade size preventing the workpiece passing it.

I do the same thing with my power hacksaw, I may even have posted pictures of it with a entire lathe headstock held in place with a very heath robinson clamp setup with the blade angled well into the air but still managing to cut