No announcement yet.

Is this indexable facing mill any good?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this indexable facing mill any good?

I would like to buy an indexable facing fill of around 2" wide.

There is one on sale from Wholesale tool for $39 bucks which fits an R8.

Is this a good one or is there somewhere else I should look?
    Vitَria, Brazil

I'm guessing >THIS< one, for general reference.

Comment

That's it.
      Vitَria, Brazil

Comment

I like the 4-5 flute face mills more. They tend to be alot more quiet than 3 flute onez
        FSWizard - Free Online Speed and Feed Calculator

Comment

Not the best but they work good . That is the kind I have been using for over 40 years now and the inserts are cheap. About a buck 98 each here . Pack of ten less than $30.00 I use the TPG322 like tat one the best.
          Every Mans Work Is A Portrait of Him Self
          http://sites.google.com/site/machinistsite/TWO-BUDDIES
          http://s178.photobucket.com/user/lan...?sort=3&page=1

Comment

Honestly, its crap. TPG's which in general kind of suck, no geometry of any kind on them, just flat top, and then add in that the holder has
            ZERO rake, and its like beating on your mill with a hammer. You can find TPG endmill/facemills with some rake to them, though I couldn't tell you
            where, but I've had them (and got rid of them).

If all you want to do is take some skim cuts to make the top of your part shiny, its perfect. As for actually moving metal, not so much.

If you want to use it use it, I'd look at the generic APKT's, only 2 edges per insert, but you get some real geometry, and they are still relatively
            cheap. If you want just straight up facemilling the SExx's(SEKT?), are really free cutting, and with the lead angle push a lot of the forces back up straight
            into the spindle so you can really get after it.

Comment

Originally posted by bobw53 View Post