Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grizzly vs Percision Mathews

Looking for peoples opinions
    I'm ready to buy a new lathe and have narrowed my chooses to a 14X40 Grizzly G0709 gunsmiths lathe or the Precision Mathews PM1440E, the specs and prices are very close to the same for both machines. The PM1440E is $4995 with a Easson dro installed including shipping, the Grizzly is $4750 with shipping and Dropro has the Easson dro for $500 but I would have to install which is not a deal breaker. Any input on which is the better machine, they are within $250 of each other I want to buy the better one.
    Buddy Boudreaux

I like my Grizzly. I have that exact model. Had it a little over a year. No issues to speak of. I have no experience with the other product.

HTH,

doug

Comment

Lathe all same factory, paint different color. You pays your money and you takes your chances. Some times you get real lucky and all the parts come without extra sand and mounted in a rigid formation.

Comment

I can't tell you which is the better machine, but I can tell you that I bought both a Precision Matthews lathe and also a mill about a year ago and have been very satisfied with both machines, as well as with the company (Quality Machine Tools). I, too, was trying to decide between Grizzly (G4003G) and Precision Matthews (PM1236). Not having compared the two machines in actual use, I can't say that the PM machine is any better than the Grizzly, and I suspect they are fairly similar in terms of build-quality and reliability. I had heard such good things about customer service from Quality Machine Tools that I decided to go with them and have been happy with that decision. I don't think you will go wrong whichever you decide on.

One thing you might check on with both Grizzly and PM is whether the machines are actually in stock and available for shipment. Sometimes certain machines get backlogged and you wind up waiting months for them.

Comment