I could not give them away!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I could not give them away!

A couple of months ago I was given an Atlas lathe and a whole pile of tools and tooling by a fellow who I helped out a bit with some parts for his hobby, he told me to keep what I wanted and donate the rest to the club. I took the lathe to a meeting of about 60 members and only one showed any interest, so we gave him the lathe and he is having a lot of fun renovating it. Last night I took a 25 lb basket of assorted home made boring bars in to the meeting, told the members to take what they wanted and put a donation in the kitty, I ended up bringing half of them home.Is this a sign that we all have too many tools, and too much tooling.? When I was a beginner I bagged anything I thought useful,because I had so little and could not afford to actually buy much. Do we not have impecunious beginners in our hobby any more? Regards David Powell.

too many tools, and too much tooling
    Uh, April 1st was a while ago....
    "A machinist's (WHAP!) best friend (WHAP! WHAP!) is his hammer. (WHAP!)" - Fred Tanner, foreman, Lunenburg Foundry and Engineering machine shop, circa 1979

Comment

I think the "young generation" will only accept NEW things. Any old "used" stuff
      is "just junk" to them. They have been given new things all their life, including
      a new car while in high school etc. etc. :-(
      I don't have much hope for, not just the machining hobby but society in general.
      ...lew...

Comment

I'd probably have bought them, lol, as long as they weren't wasted out.

Comment

Possible reasons: boring bars didn't use carbide inserts; too big for my lathe; don't know how to grind HSS tooling; etc.; etc.

Comment

That's very generous of you David, I would have donated for some if they fit my machines but I wasn't there. Lew, I am of the younger crowd and I prefer older stuff, most everything new is junk. I was not given a car lol.