No announcement yet.

I am a gear noob.. some help please...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am a gear noob.. some help please...

I am going to be making a thread dial, but dont know they proper gear to fit my lead screw. The lead screw is 1-1/2 4tpi....

Thanks...

You need a 16 tooth gear that matches up with your leadscrew. Because it's a 1/4" pitch it not a standard DP gear but what is know as CP [ circular pitch ]

Your blank on the pitch line will be 16 x 1/4" or 4" which is 1.273" diameter but more important is the OD which is 16 + 2 x 1/4" / Pi = 1.433"

Thread dial gears do not need to be that accurate and many people just turn a blank and gash 16 teeth into it using a flycutter that's been ground to fit the leadscrew.

Technically the teeth are layed off in a helical to match the slope of the thread on the leadscrew but as it neary point contact where it works you can cut straight teeth.

Sir John , Earl of Bligeport & Sudspumpwater. MBE [ Motor Bike Engineer ] Nottingham England.

Comment

Sir John,

Perhaps I should be more clear... Its going to take all my machining knowledge and HSM skills to make the general box... There isnt a snowball chance in Hell that I am going to attempt a gear at this point in my education.

So... Where can i buy one??

Comment

Closest off the shelf is going to be a 16 tooth, 12 DP 14.5 PA gear.

Tried looking at rush gears, SPI, and Martin but crap websites won't give a price.

McMastercarr list one at $27.

http://www.mcmaster.com/#standard-gears/=mu5i8n

Sir John , Earl of Bligeport & Sudspumpwater. MBE [ Motor Bike Engineer ] Nottingham England.

Comment