3-phase motor to single-phase?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3-phase motor to single-phase?

There's a Bridgeport mill available in my area with a 1-horse 3-phase motor. I have no capabilities for 3-phase at my location. I do have single-phase 110 and 220.

Why not just repower the unit with a single-phase 220-volt motor? Does this make sense or is the installation of a phase converter the only route to take? I have no experience of any kind in this area, so your advice is highly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Johnny

If you have 220-volt available, the best route to go for a single 3-phase machine is a VFD. I got mine from Automation Direct.

http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...-Hz_Control%29
    Any products mentioned in my posts have been endorsed by their manufacturer.

Comment

A real good reason is that once you take a close look at the motor in question, you will discover that it is an oddball and a single phase one to fit the mounting will cost you the price of half a dozen VFD's. Do what winchman suggest for less than a couple hundred bucks. You will be proud and welcome to the forum.

Comment

VFD, without a question. Even good ones like Hitachi are so cheap now, that I've been ripping single phase motors out of my stuff, and putting 3 phase motors in!

allan

Comment

Keep the 3-phase motor. Buy yourself a VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) rated for 1-horsepower.
          The VFD will convert 220 single phase power into 220 3-phase power.
          It also serves as your on/off, speed, and fwd/rev functions.
          You'll love it

Comment

My knee mill is single phase and the motor is heavy, it is also very difficult to change the belt position. Needless to say there is always a strong temptation to run the spindle at whatever speed is already set rather than to match the job.

How much useful speed variation could I get with a 3 phase motor and a VFD? -50% to +100%?

Comment