Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aluminum to Aluminum Soldering??

Hi,

I really enjoyed all of the information contained in all of your posts; it answered many of my questions regarding soldering in general. However, I am wondering if anyone could give a newbie some advice. Any would be HUGELY appreciated. I have a couple of questions relating soldering aluminum to aluminum. This very light soldering, perhaps on drop at each point.

I have a project I would like to start; I will need to be soldering aluminum to aluminum and the project will require many soldering bonds. I am new to soldering and would like to start off on the right foot and am hoping you can give me some direction to start.

I would like to use a soldering pen, but have no idea which one would be the best for my needs. I don’t want get more soldering power than I need.
    Can you please suggest which pen I should purchase?

Also, I am not sure which flux or solder I will need to do this project and I am hoping you can tell me which I should purchase.

I want to Thank You, in advance, for any advice you could give me.

With My Sincerest Thanks,
    ArielSue

Welcome,
    Soldering aluminum is a tough place to start. Indeed, many, if not most of us, will only attempt it under duress.

I presume that by soldering pen you mean a small pencil iron. Aluminum is very thermally conductive and you will probably need all the heat you can get. You would have better performance with a torch.

I am sure others will contribute ideas and opinions.

If you pursue soldering aluminum and get good at it, you will be very good at soldering.

Good luck.
    Weston Bye - Author, The Mechatronist column, Digital Machinist magazine
    ~Practitioner of the Electromechanical Arts~

Comment

I know they tin plate, silver plate, and nickle plate
      aluminum connectors for the electrical industry.
      It allows them to run copper next to aluminum
      without them corosion.