OT: flashight bulbs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: flashight bulbs

I have been looking for LED replacement bulbs for my 4 D cell Maglights, I have 5, for a while without any luck and yesterday I found some at a Harbour fright store, $10.00.

Put It in this morning and it actually worked, the light output seems to be much brighter than a filament bulb, battery life should increase by a factor of 10 (according to the chart on the package back) and bulb life should go way way up (OK I bought it at HF so it might burn out tomorrow).

It would seem that LED bulbs are becoming more commonly available.
    The shortest distance between two points is a circle of infinite diameter.

Bluewater Model Engineering Society at https://sites.google.com/site/bluewatermes/

I bought LED replacement bulbs for my d-cell maglights 5 years ago.... from Home Depot. And they had been available prior to that....

Comment

I've been doing the LED flashlight mods for about 10 years. Making and modifying my own flashlights is part of what got me into machining.

The problem that Maglite replacement bulbs have is that there is no where for the heat to go inside that big old flashlight. The LED module might fit in the little metal holder but that is encased in plastic. A good LED module will have a limiter that will cut back the power as it gets close to overheating. They work, and they are better than the original bulb, but they are not perfect. A more effective replacement will do away with the stock mount and include a heatsink that conducts the heat to the outside of the flashlight.

I still have 3 cell Maglite s hanging around, but they are part of my 'long life' group of lights for extended power outrages. They are low power, about twice the brightness of the stock light but will last for days. For normal use I have pocket sized lights that will run for 10 to 40 hours and are 10 to 20 times brighter (or more) than a stock Maglite.