Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with milling surface *rough pattern*

Hello everyone,

This is my first post, I am a journeyman mold maker machinist, and I started a side business about 6 months ago. I mill the club faces of wedges and short irons for added backspin and performance. My website is groovybirdgolf.com , check it out!
    I have been running an old Bridgeport mill at work, and now I run my business 100% from home. I bought a HiTorque 3960 Mini Mill from Little Machine Shop.
    HiTorque 3960 Mini Mill
    • belt driven
    • solid column
    • 2500 max rpm
    • flycutter, carbide tool
    • 20" x 5" table

My desired surface is unlike almost all milling machinists. This is why it is hard for me to find helpful solutions. My goal is to achieve a surface that is rough, with circular mill patterns, about .001" - .002" crest to trough pattern line. It does not need to be exact.
    Am I using the wrong tool, should I be using a facemill cutter? Should I use as much radius as possible without rubbing?

Thank you in advance, any advice would be helpful!

Well I seem to have some what of a pattern that you describe when the mill is out of tram. Increasing the feed rate will produce similar patterns.
    Byron Boucher
    Burnet, TX

Comment

What a groovy name. Welcome to the forum.
      Don't no if this will help, me being an amateur and all but recently I was milling a piece of good quality Unknowium and when I use small endmills 5/16, 1/2 inch the finish was perfect but on the same piece of metal when I used a 1" endmill with light cuts to surface the faces, the leading edge came out great while the trailing edge had circular rings all across it. Not just the usual pattern but rings dug into the face. The mill is trammed square. Possibly experimenting with feed rates and depth of cut (possible one dull tooth would do it) would give you the required results.