Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surface Grinder Questions

Hello All,
    I am not a machinist. I have used a surface grinder for about a year now to surface barstock for making my folding knives. I first owned a Rockwell Delta grinder, which worked great! For some odd reason, I sold the Rockwell and purchased a Boyer Schultz 612. I am using the same wheels. Radiac Abrasive 32A's. I could cut .001 passes very easily with my Rockwell. I cannot figure it out with the BS612! It tends to burn metal very easily and quickly. I can't even think about a 001. pass most of the time. The steel I am grinding hasn't changed any between grinders. Now, I have been wondering about the dresser that I am using for the wheel. It is just a regular diamond that sits, I believe, on a 15Degree angle. I have been using this diamond for about a year. It seems to dress the wheel okay, but I am not experienced enough to know. Can anyone help? The Boyer Schultz grinder table is in fine condition with hardly, if at all, any deviation from one side to the other. About how many wheel dressings can one expect from a diamond? Thanks for any help!
    Chris S.

[This message has been edited by cds (edited 04-27-2004).]