Basic lathe drilling procedures

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic lathe drilling procedures

As mentioned elsewhere, I'm a newbie lathe owner and am trying to learn as I go so be gentle if my questions are ignorant.

Is there a standard process for establishing the progression of drill sizes to work up the finished hole?

Example: Trying to advance my skills, last night I machined a tap-holder for the tailstock that slides on a length of surplus 3/8" hardened computer printer rod. A 1" 6061 alum. rod had to be drilled & tapped 1/2-20 on the chuck end and a 3/8" hole drilled/reamed 3 5/8" deep on the other end. I center drilled both ends and drilled the holes progressively using vegetable oil as a lube beginning with a 1/8" up to the final hole in 3 stages on the small hole, 4 on the larger. I tapped the chuck end by hand in the lathe using the live center to keep the tap holder centered. When I put it all together and spun it, the #$%@*& chuck wobbles so much I'm going to have to trash it and start over!

In thinking back over the process, the bits seemed to wobble some as I was drilling and I don't think the holes are centered and straight. Is this just the work wobbling since the 1" rod wouldn't fit through the headstock hole and maybe 4" was sticking out of the chuck? It ran straight when center drilling but probably it and the bits wobbled some during the drilling. Is there a progression of bit sizes that would help or are my bits just wandering due to their quality? They are medium priced TiN coated bits bought from H.F. I tried to feed the bit into the work at a rate that kept a pair of nice spiral chips coming out plus cleared the chips pretty often.

I realize turning down a stub and cutting the threads in the lathe for the chuck would have been better but I felt my skills weren't up for the threading process, hence threading the piece for a short stud to screw the chuck onto.

Any suggestions?
    Milton