Where to find Machining Info? Advice needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to find Machining Info? Advice needed

Hi Everyone. New guy here that is going through a career change and training. One of the issues I'm having with my current class training is there is a wealth of information out there all the experienced people seem to know, but novice's like myself are kinda in the dark about. If I wanted to supplement my own classroom knowledge, where would I go? I have basic mill knowledge (3 classroom projects done) and am working on the lathe now. Our class textbook is....dated, so any useful links about anything machining would be worth it's weight in gold....or tool steel. ;-) Thanks!

Well Chris, Machining technology does not really age.
    A book written in 1944 still applies today, when you look at manual machines.
    I'm not sure if you are into CNC, in which case , you are right. CNC has come a long way in the past 40 years from when i did "Bandit" programing.
    First, "machining " is not something you learn in a few hours. Most of the fellows here, are still learning after many, many years in the trade.
    But you are interested, and that's what is important to better your skills.
    You can subscribe to the magazine that supports this forum - HOME SHOP MACHINIST.
    My two closest friends were discovered with this publication when i moved to Wisconsin 20+ years ago. One is only a block away
    You can look in your area for home shop clubs, or steam/gas engine clubs, or Live Steam groups. Both have guys who have a heavy interest in machining and many tips for starting Newbies.
    Others here will post websites I am sure and of course there is the "Army Manuals " and YouTube.
    Be aware however.. TAKE ALL YOUTUBE videos as amateur productions !
    I have seen many UNSAFE machining steps done there, and your first rule in a machine shop is ALWAYS BE SAFE.

Good luck and welcome

Rich

Comment

Hi Chris -