Scrap prices? Sorta OT, maybe not

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scrap prices? Sorta OT, maybe not

I own a rigging and sail loft. Oftentimes I replace the standing rigging on someone's boat and I end up with the old wire. If it's stainless I save it and I decided this year since I have so much of it I'd take it and get the scrap value.
    The scrapyard, not having seen something like this, immediately pulled the magnet out and started picking through it, and as it turns out some of it is NOT type 316 as I had been led to believe. I've been buying wire for about ten years now, and the only options are T316 or T304. This guy starts telling me it's 400-grade steel.
    I left it all in the trunk and said, "I'll separate it and be back tomorrow." Everything was cordial. So I went through all 180 pounds with a magnet and found that about half was nonmagnetic, and half was. I'll call that 304, since there's no other option, really.
    Here's the weird part: The UPS guy dropped off a box of wire I had ordered, all T316, in three different diameters. On a lark I figured I'd check them. Two out of three were magnetic! I looked in the box of ends I had cut off from splicing and there were certainly some there that I had ordered and used, bought and charged customers for as T316, but there they were, all shiny and new and magnetic.

I'm thinking I'm going to call my supplier and ask, why is some of this magnetic and some not? Meanwhile, I don't even know what to say to the scrap guy, who wants to give me 10 cents a pound for half of what I bring to him.

It sure sounds like you may be getting some bunk stainless. We'll all be interested to hear what they say.