Who does this ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who does this ?

I deeply apologise if im posting in the wrong area...
    I am looking for some metal workers that would be interested in creating unusual objects in runs of a dozen or so. What do I mean by unusual...? Well I guess gadgets, widgets, whatever would spring to mind. Things you see in movies, things that are unusual. Vague, yes I am, but its only because I have no idea of the talent in this area. I am a graphic artist/webdesighner and I create sites that stay away from the norm. I hope there are some here that are the same.
    Thanks for your time... (Its a little weird coming to a forum that I have no expertise about)

I imagine quite a few people might be intrigued by something like this; I think a lot of machinists like oddball mechanical things, and building something out of the ordinary is often interesting.

You may be surprised how much somebody would want to charge, however. One-off or short run work takes design and setup time that can't be amortized over a lot of pieces. Designs that are "vague" have to be made un-vague. If you can go to somebody with a clear set of drawings and say, "build this," that's one thing. If you go with a sketch and an idea and say, "build this," that's something else entirely.

----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
    Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment

I do prototype and shot run prodution. I have a complete convetional shop and 30 years as a millwright and machinist with papers for both. email [email protected]

Comment