Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anilam 1100 CRT help!

Hi folks,
    I'm new to this forum so a quick introduction may be in order. I am a mechanical engineer who has a "real job" but I also run a side business manufacturing woodworking hand tools. I also very much enjoy manufacturing and machinery and have managed to stuff my single stall garage with way too much iron. Most of my equipment I picked up at auctions or garage sales and it all needed or needs work. I have a 40's vintage Logan 9" lathe, 15" Walker Turner drillpress, 20" Clausing drill press, 16" Walker Turner 2-speed bandsaw, Full size Table saw, old DeWalt 9" Radial Arm Saw, Two old wood lathes, a couple 10" Baldor grinders and a microwave oven! My most recent find was a Titan II Bridgeport knock-off equipped with Anilam series 1100 2-axis CNC controls. I have it up and running and am learning to program it - great fun. However, the other night the CRT went south and the display collapsed into a vrtical line. All of the control functions still worked fine but I could not read the display. I took the cover off and patched in an old computer CRT so I am running again, however, I would like to fix the old tube if possible. Anyone have any experience with this kind of thing? My father-inlaw said it was the horizontal oscilator.?? Any help would be appreciated. Anilam wants $675 for a new CRT! Ouch.

Thanks,
    Dave

It definitely is something in the deflection circuit but if you can see a vertical line then you still have high voltage. That means the horizontal osc is still running. More likely the problem is in the horiz deflection amplifier. Not an uncommon problem and often fairly easy to repair. Usually a pair of power transistors and they aren't very critical as to specs.
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Could also be the yoke.

Comment