Got an 'F' in Shaper 101 :~(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got an 'F' in Shaper 101 :~(

I got my answers, and I ended up in the right place.
    The trouble is, I've been doing the same machining now for 5 1/2 years.

New territory has been all tool-welding, and Babbitt puddling and repairs.
    Some groth in CNC programing experiments but that's it.

I didd terribllle! today. I layed a large holder up on the gibs by the ram.
    I was constantly stopping the ram and leaving the crossfeed lever engaged.
    And FOrGETTING about it. I didn't allow for a slight adjustment and took
    a third off my tool-bit.

I began to wonder if I should be led out to pasture and shot?
    Finaly I realised I made no distinction in habbits from work
    on the Bar, to a Shaper at home
    , and discounted the FACT,
    >>that realy my time was 90% as a helper!<< I got [email protected] good at putting work on a planer.
    He wasn't even checking my work anymore. (or at least I thought he wasn't)
    I got pretty good at sharpening bits to instructions.

I didn't realy ever acheive much on a planer or a shaper.
    And I was approaching this like I was solid in the saddle.
    I'd give myself a spanking but somehow that sounds disturbing!
    ================
    Results @ .020" stepping @ .012" cut-depth @ 16 s.p.m.
    Mercon III brushed on the part.
    Now you can see a shadow behind the hole.
    The cut is correct, rubbing toward or away from the ram feels no different.
    I still give my-self an 'F' .. .. .. reason follows pics.
    [IMG][/IMG]
    [IMG][/IMG]
    [IMG][/IMG]
    REASON FOR the 'F'.
    Even my troubleshooting has gone to seed.
    As soon as I saw the print but could feel nothing last time, I figgured gear-noise . . .
    .... but lacked the creativeity to comprehend an opportunity here that one can't have on a Bar in a bore.

you can't ride on a boring head and live to tell about it.