New aluminum casting method - stick welder, graphite and kinetic sand

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New aluminum casting method - stick welder, graphite and kinetic sand

It's so simple, it really shouldn't work. But the proof is in the pudding!
    [url]http://youtu.be/L3t-jBATM0w[/url]
    Since this is my first successful aluminum casting, I'd really appreciate your thoughts!

Pretty awesome.

Correct link: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=L3t-jBATM0w

Comment

Slick, other than the waxed cup!
      Glen
      Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
      I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
      All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

Comment

Interesting, but the definition of the cast part was poor. You'd need to oversize everything and hope it was close enough to machine to size. Perhaps with some experimenting one could overcome that.
        Southwest Utah

Comment

What would happen if you connected the welder lead directly to the graphite crucible? Or if you used just a plain graphite rod instead of a plated one? The rods they use for refining aluminum are not plated. A way to confine that mold material that did not burst into flames would also be a plus.
          Gene

Comment

Why didn't the sand slump down when you removed the pattern?

Comment

Quite impressed, mini electric arc furnace, the copper wouldent hurt, after all if any gets in the Ali it would just join whats already there, at least in Duralamin.
              Poss an argon shroud might help with things too, just a guess
              The play sand idea worked, though the other types of sand available might be better other than that i think he did well, somthing to try at least.