Craftex Mill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Craftex Mill

I am just getting started with this machining and am looking for a mill. I have read almost all the posts in here and have narrowed it down to a RF-45 look alike called KC-45 by King Industrial or this Craftex machine. The machine is at Busybeetools.com and it is the B048.
    The price of the two are very similar except the craftex in not a table top, has power feed and the table moves in the Z direction instead of the head. I am unsure of the quality as I have not seen anything that looks like it anywere.

I have not seen either of them but can tell you that a knee style mill is a great advantage when tooling of different lengths needs to be used in the same setup.
    Consider: a small end mill mounted in a collet may only stidck out of the quill a half inch while a large size drill in a 1/2" or larger chuck can be 3, 4, 5 inches or even more. A 5 inch quill travel sounds like a lot but it can be lost in the difference in tooling.

Mill-drills with heads that are moved up/down on round columns will instantly lose the set up when the head is moved. This can waste a lot of time. Knee mills with a dovetail design will maintain the setup when moved up/down but they generally cost more. Recently some designs with a dovetail slide for the head have appeared and may be just as good.

Of course, if money is tighter than time.....

Paul A.
    Paul A.

Make it fit.
    You can't win and there is a penalty for trying!

Comment

B048 is definitely a beefier machine, and as Paul noted, having the knee style mill will allow you much more versatility and make certain operations easier. What's the price of KC-45? If the price difference isn't too far off, I'd definitely go with B048. I have studied B048 few years back, and as I recall they are made in Taiwan. They are definitely few notches above the made in China machines.

Albert

Comment

Flash319