Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best speed range for a small lathe

Hi folks,

I've recently bought a small (3.5" x 12") bench lathe, a Faircut Junior, quite rare by all accounts, which I have had to fettle the drive system on as the original motor is missing and I have no clue what size pulley or what speed it would have been.

I've bought a 1400rpm motor and have a selection of pulleys that can be made to fit, my issue is that as a lathe newbie I'm not sure what speed range is needed and as usual a google search is of no help at all!

Working it out with a 100mm motor pulley driving the 260mm flywheel on the countershaft I can get 861.54, 538.46, 336.54, as my main speeds, and 149.57, 93.48, 58.43 as my backgeared speeds.

Will this be of any use or do I need a higher top speed?

Any help much appreciated, Dan

Hi,

Sounds like a nice lathe. Post some photos please, I would like to see it!

What speeds to have depends on what material you want to work with and the diameter of the material. The speeds you list so far, would be fine for steels. But far less than needed for aluminum or plastics. So you need to figure what you want to turn first. Then you can figure out what spindle speeds you might need.

Dalee
    If you think you understand what is going on, you haven't been paying attention.

Comment

Doesn't the Junior have plain spindle bearings? That might be what determines how fast you can run it.
      Peter - novice home machinist, modern motorcycle enthusiast.

Denford Viceroy 280 Synchro (11 x 24)
      Herbert 0V adapted to R8 by 'Sir John'.
      Monarch 10EE 1942

Comment

Is it this lathe?

http://www.lathes.co.uk/faircut/

If so, nice looking machine.