Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RPC run capacitor balancing question?

Hello Group,
    Got my RPC up and running tonight and now need to ask a question? I have a 7.5 hp idler and read 240 between L1, L2 and 208 between L1, L3 and 192 between L2, L3 with no load turned on. L3 is my produced leg. I know that I need to size the run cap's for the larger load in the shop for best balance. So far I have 10mf and 15mf cap's at 370v That I'm going to start with.
    Now to my real question. How do you know what size cap to put with which leg? Is it as simple as just try one and read the voltage? I also found out tonight I need a bleed resistor across the cap's, what size and wattage do those need to be?

A newbie here on this one. Done some reading and searches on this forum with limited success. But as you all know the internet has all the right answers so I'm well prepared.

Look forward to your responses.

TX
    Mr fixit for the family
    Chris

There is an old but popular original by Fitch Williams here, look for the FRW files.
    http://www.mwdropbox.com/dropbox/_1998_retired_files/
    Max.

Comment

Read this and follow it. Easy.

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/FitchWConverter.pdf

Comment

Chris

First about 100,000 ohms at 1 or 2 watts for a drain resistor

With all due respects for the fine article mentioned by Max and Lakeside , I have the following comment
        I have built over 60 RPC's in my life and I would say to forget your voltage readings.
        You want "AMPS"
        That's what does the work.
        Voltage is only "Potential" , not HP
        Balance the legs with amp readings, as Voltage numbers will drive you nuts
        I use 15 MF per HP as a start and go from there.
        I found motors to vary tremendously and you will be tuning to them specifically
        Older motors with more mass are easier. Some of the "efficient' motors of late are NOT easy !