Why does dial test indicator lie ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why does dial test indicator lie ?

I've got an Interapid 312B-3 dial test indicator which reads 0.0001". It consistently reads 0.012" on a 0.010" displacement.

The Interapid has a 12 degree contact angle and this has been checked. The point length is correct also. Accuracy is way beyond this error (0.00016" per revolution and it's only moving 1/10 of a rev.).

One other little tidbit, it also reads identically in either direction. If it had a bent rack or something, it shouldn't work this well, should it?

Den

[This message has been edited by nheng (edited 06-01-2004).]

I am far from an expert, but I was taught that a DTI is for relative measurements only - not absolute.

Comment

What's the nature of the displacement? THe displacement could be labeled wrong, or it may not be square if you're meaning a gauge block.

Comment

The 0.010" was linear travel of a lathe compound on which I was checking and adjusting backlash. Contact was on a square end and at the proper angle for the Interapid (12 degrees). I verified the travel with another indicator.

Comment

The problem is called cosine error. The only way you get 1 for 1 reading to movement correspondance is when the contact angle is parallel to the surface and perpendicular to the motion. Noodle out the trig on the contact angle problem and maybe you'll come close - maybe not.

Some pricey electronic indicators have an involute contact point that partly corrects this error but remember a DTI is a convenience instrument.

If you need hard data that will survive adversarial direct and cross examination before an administrative law judge, use a calibrated dial indicator that works with a linear motion.

[This message has been edited by Forrest Addy (edited 06-02-2004).]

Comment