This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lack of home shop machinests

Following on from the thread of lack of machinists. I wonder if home shop machinists are slowly shrinking around the world.When I first started reading this forum there seemed to be much more hsm content. It may be because I was a noob and anything for me was new and something to learn.I go on this site every day to get my fix but I feel like a junkie who is not getting his HIGH anymore.It seems we have lost some real good guys with their contributions of knowledge. It takes a special kind of character to have skill but to also not be selfish with your time and try to pass on knowledge.
    I would be curious to know the average age of the members here. I bet you very few young guys are on this forum.
    I suspect the next generation of hsmers will not be talking about lathes and milling machines but rather what is the best 3d printer available.

I think it would tend towards older people myself, it is as we all know a very very expensive hobby, I know of about nil people in my surrounding area, there is a thriving model engineering club just down the road, live steam and such.
    My interests personally are somehow connected to the fact that I had a really good metalwork teacher in school, I think that's where it starts!
    (1961 btw !)
    Mark

Comment

I fear you are right.
      "Let me recommend the best medicine in the
      world: a long journey, at a mild season, through a pleasant
      country, in easy stages."
      ~ James Madison

Comment

I think,
        From purely a hobby standpoint, there is just as much, if not more interest from young people who want to "make" stuff.