Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT (sort of): Need a little engineering help

Hey guys,

I want to build a device that will go in front of a hockey goal to block part of the opening of the goal. I know that the specs for a hockey goal require the front frame to be built from 2-3/8" schedule 40 tubing. The device would consist of a square steel tube frame that would have a net laced into it. I am trying to determine is what size square steel tube I need to use for this thing.

I am not an engineer by any stretch of the imagination. My normal approach to this problem would be to build it out of 2X2X1/4" square steel tubing and hope for the best. However, I need to build it as light as possible and still not have it deform under the stress of a slap shot.

What I know:

1) A regulation hockey puck weighs 6 ounces, some practice pucks weigh up to 10 oz.

2) The speed of the puck during a slap shot can be as high as 108 mph.

3) Human life will not be endangered if the device fails.

What I would like to know:

1) What force (in psi) will the puck impose on the steel frame if struck head on?

2) Are there other forces at play besides a direct strike from the puck that would contribute to deformation?

3) What would be an appropriate safety factor to use in this instance?

3) How do I apply this information to determine what size (structural) square steel tube to use?

Thanks,

Tim
    Last edited by tmc_31; 02-27-2015, 12:35 PM.

Will this part have an opening in the middle or be solid all the way across?
    Kansas City area

Comment

Any concern about a player sustaining a more serious injury slamming into the corner of the square HSS, as compared to the 2 3/8 " round?

Comment