Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finished new tool post

Hi,

I want to say thanks to those who commented on my question the cut off tool holder. Sadly, due to the size of the holder, I had to stay with a 0 rake. Just have to grind the rake I need.

But on the upside, I have all but a boring bar holder for my new tool post. I don't have a suitable piece of steel yet, got to get to scrounging. I did take a few photos to share of the machining.

I've been using a Norman style post on my 8x14 lathe for about 5 years. It's been a solid and easy setup to use and make. But I really miss the quick and easy 90deg indexing of a square dovetail type. When I came across photos of this post, I thought I would make one for myself. I've had the photos for a while, but finally got around to making it.

Squaring up the post

Machining the hex on the tool post nut

Cutting dovetails on a slab of future tool holders

4 general holders and a cut off tool holder

Thanks for looking!
    Dalee
    If you think you understand what is going on, you haven't been paying attention.

Added two more photos

Close up of tool holder mounted

Close up of tool post
    If you think you understand what is going on, you haven't been paying attention.

Comment

Looks like a nice job. Enjoy your new post.
      Paul A.

Make it fit.
      You can't win and there is a penalty for trying!

Comment

Looks a bit like the Hardinge toolpost system.

-D
        DZER

Comment

Nice work!
          I'm curious how you made the two long, deep slits in the tool post? i.e. big slitting saw, bandsaw, other?

Comment

I like it. Sensible design, especially the flex feature on the dovetail (note the saw cut and the relief hole). Saves making parts and makes for very rigid tool holder grip - possibly equal to the gib style aloris. Tighten the side bolt and the whole side of the tool post squeezes the holder with a stiff, hefty hunk of the tool post mass as a deflection hinge.