looking to buy first insert tooling kit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• looking to buy first insert tooling kit

Looking to buy my first set of lathe insert tooling. I went out to fleabay for a quick check and found there are several offerings. Can anyone give a recommendation as to a brand or supplier. Ive read that like most things there are good and bad brands.

Im not a production shop so I cant just go out and buy a set of valenite holders and insert. The cost just doesnt justify it for my use. I however would like to get a good middle of the road set as I move into the insert world.

lathe is a 12" 1.5 hp so im guessing a positive rake insert is needed. Would like to get a full set all in one shot which would cut LH, RH, Part, Thread internal and external if possible.

Any suggestions

thanks

The main suggestion I have is to NEVER buy those kits with 5 or 6 holders which all use the same triangular insert. They are imported CRAP, and you use the Rh turning one 95% of the time, a chamfering one perhaps 4% of the time, and a LH turning one maybe 1% of the time. The others collect dust or hold down papers.

How often would you need a LH turning tool? Get an SCLCR or SWLCR holder for RH turning. Get a Top Notch style holder to start for grooving and external threading. Add an insert parting tool at some point.

Good tooling is something you buy ONCE and have no regrets.

Comment

Originally posted by PixMan View Post
      The main suggestion I have is to NEVER buy those kits with 5 or 6 holders which all use the same triangular insert. They are imported CRAP, and you use the Rh turning one 95% of the time, a chamfering one perhaps 4% of the time, and a LH turning one maybe 1% of the time. The others collect dust or hold down papers.

How often would you need a LH turning tool? Get an SCLCR or SWLCR holder for RH turning. Get a Top Notch style holder to start for grooving and external threading. Add an insert parting tool at some point.