Fishtail Guage Markings?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fishtail Guage Markings?

I got a 60 degree fishtail gauge off EBay. It was made by Brown & Sharpe, Providence Rhode Island. Some questions on the markings:

1) There is no marking that denotes the angle, even though it is 60 degrees (I checked it against another gauge). There is a "650" at the point of the gauge, but I can't imagine what this means.
    2) There is a set of markings "Double Depth of Amer Nat Thread". The number for 12 TPI is 0.108, whereas double depth of a 60 degree 12 TPI thread should be 0.144. Maybe someone can tell me what the different thread types are?
    3) There are four scales on either side of the gauge - 14, 20 24, and 32. Each represents divisions of an inch - 14ths, 20ths, 24ths, and 32nds. What is this useful for?

The "650" is their catalog/part number.

The scales are for determining how many threads per inch a thread you're checking might be, with the increments being (mostly) ones you don't find on a lot of standard rules.
    With the 14 scale you can verify 28, 14, 7, 3-1/2 threads per inch. With the 20 you can verify 5,10, 20, 40 threads per inch, and so on.
    Last edited by PixMan; 05-04-2015, 10:49 PM.

Comment

It would be .144 for a sharp V thread, which the American National form is not, Am Nat has a flat bottom.

Comment

The American National thread form has a flat at the root of the thread and a flat at the crest. It does not come to a sharp point therefore the double depth will be less.
        "The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is." Winston Churchill

Comment

Originally posted by 3jaw View Post
          The American National thread form has a flat at the root of the thread and a flat at the crest. It does not come to a sharp point therefore the double depth will be less.