Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

VFD Power question for electrical peoples...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VFD Power question for electrical peoples...

Hey guys,
    Note : I have no electrical experience at all, so sorry if this is a dumb question.

So i'm getting Jack of my 2.4kw spindle (and 2.4kw VFD) (80mm chinese ER20) stalling out, and wanted to know if running a bigger VFD will help.
    The VFD that came with it trips out under what I would think is a reasonable load for the spindle. I do mostly aluminum, and what I think are reasonable cuts but it's just too damn risky now, I have some complex parts that come out well but boy do I go in small DOC to stop spindle stall.

I see I can get a VFD thats 7.5kw for not much money, and was thinking of upgrading to it to simple have the extra amp draw handy if the tool loads up. Is this the way it works? Bigger VFD= More head room = more available torque? I find that in drilling operations I cringe as I hear the spindle load up... even drilling at 8000rpm it simply fails to do any reasonable peck depth with the torque it gets. I'm forced to drill at 12000 rpm!
    I'm also guessing I'm going to be schooled like I'm an idiot for asking, but will simply using a bigger VFD help?
    Thanks in advanced.
    Race.

P.S: Maybe a 7.5kw VFD and a servo motor if I can find one that goes to 12000 rpm???

A bigger VFD won't necessarily have more power. You may have a setting wrong for the max current. Check the max current on the spindle motor and compare to the max current setting in the VFD parameters.

If you have no power at lower speeds you might try a flux vector VFD, they have better power. Generic VFDs suck at low speed because they lower the voltage at the lower frequencies.

A VFD will not drive a servo motor. It will fry one or both.

Comment

Macona cheers bro. I have was thinking "There must be a high torque alternative in the 80/125 mm chinese spindle market."